Thursday’s Child

2016-05-05 13.39.24

Not only are Thursdays the one-on-one day with my youngest, she literally is Thursday’s child, having been born on a Thursday.  Though there are both positive and negative connotations with “Thursdays child has far to go,” I will grab hold of the positive definition of a child who can go very far, very successfully, and without limitations.

2016-05-05 14.14.29

She has always been our hands-on explorer, loving the free spirit mentality (which I”m sure many of you with free spirits in your households recognize this includes very little hair combing.)

2016-05-05 13.36.08

We ventured to a neighbouring city for our walk after dropping her brother at his volunteer job.

2016-05-05 13.38.52

The weather was absolutely lovely for walking.  Of course, not warm enough to let go of jackets, though she was all about how hot and sweaty she was, begging to run free in her t-shirt.

2016-05-05 13.37.10

She was a dear to constantly hold onto my chai tea latte while I clicked away, reminding me often that I had taken plenty of photos already and couldn’t I hold the drink now.

2016-05-05 14.02.53

 

We walked down cherry blossom lane, planting ourselves on the hill surveying Lake Ontario and all the happy walkers and photographers enjoying the lake and blossoms.

2016-05-05 13.59.55

 

2016-05-05 14.09.34

We headed back along the water’s edge with the conversation around swimming.  She reasoned that since she can manage the egg beater move, she’d certainly be able to save herself if she fell in the water (since she knows I can’t save her), though she did mention how long I was and that I could easily reach over and pull her out (I guess with those long, bendy arms of mine.)

2016-05-05 14.09.28

We stopped by the monument to the Canadian ships and sailors who served during WWII.

2016-05-05 13.54.39

And we couldn’t not take a selfie shot together on the pier to create yet more memories of our sweet Thursdays together.

2016-05-05 13.40.12

 

4 thoughts on “Thursday’s Child

  1. How wonderful to spend time one to one. I would love to do that more often with my children but there don’t seem to be enough hours in the day. I love your photos of the sea. Just gorgeous 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks Claire!
      It just so happens that this year allowed for a one-on-one with my youngest one day a week while the others were either in a co-op or volunteering. She’s loving it as am I, and yes, wish I had more of that over the years on a weekly basis, but I agree, there just aren’t enough hours in the day for it all.

      Like

Leave a Reply

