The Monday Make: Angela Liddon Marathon Cooking

IMG_0266

I’ve been doing some marathon cooking and baking this weekend, rather like the feeling I get when I know the spring air is going to stay and I start madly scrubbing cupboards, windowsills, sinks and floors.  Not sure why the cooking bug has hit me so obsessively these last few days, but I’ve thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience, and now feel like an Angela Liddon groupie, quite determined as I am to make every single recipe in this book.  Well so far, I’ve covered ten in three days (soon to be eleven once the Effortless Vegan Overnight Oats are ready for Monday morning) so I’d say I’m off to a good start.

IMG_0265

Angela Liddon’s cookbook, Oh She Glows, is vegan, and while I don’t profess to be vegan, I certainly have taken away a ton of favourites in these pages.  My eldest (who is vegetarian) bought this book originally, but I have been furiously claiming rights to it these days.  (Don’t worry,  you’ll get it back sweetie!)

IMG_0269

I didn’t get around to photographing all the recipes since we were consuming them all as fast as they were being made, so I’ll just list here what all has been accomplished:

  1. Glowing mojo-ito green monster shake
  2. Out-the-door chia power doughnuts
  3. Broccoli & cashew cheese-quinoa burritos
  4. Lightened-up crispy baked fries
  5. Oil-free chocolate-zucchini muffins
  6. Peanut butter cookie dough bites
  7. 10-spice vegetable soup with cashew cream
  8. Festive kale salad with sweet apple-cinnamon vinaigrette & pecan parmesan
  9. Perfected chickpea salad sandwiches
  10. Taco fiesta potato crisps

IMG_0248

I haven’t been disappointed yet by anything in this book (and no, I’m not getting paid to say that, though I can’t deny I’d welcome the opportunity.)  Since I’m trying my best to do with very little cheese in my life (especially the strong flavoured ones that taste out of this world, such as Welsh cheddar, that hubby keeps bringing home from Costco,) I’ve had to become creative with flavours and ideas.

IMG_0267

One very creative lunch item, the chickpea salad sandwich is absolutely scrumptious, and offers  a filling substitute to cheese alongside a good deal of protein.  (Now if I could only get my youngest to consume it.)

Angela discusses how she lowered her husband’s cholesterol levels through their food changes, which is one of the reasons I am trying my best to go easy on the cheese–my bad cholesterol levels being on the high side.  I can’t say I’ll completely do without, because who am I kidding, wave a cracker, red pepper jelly, and a bit of Welsh or strong Irish cheese in front my nose, and I’m in.

Alongside blitzing on Angela Liddon’s cookbook these past days, I’ve also snuck in a few other recipes.  Canadian Living’s Magazine, issue November 2010 holds a great Molasses Oat Bread for the bread maker.  I popped that in early Sunday morning to have alongside my four ingredient simplest of soups, Potato-Leek soup, for din din.

And for some variety on breakfast, I pulled out a favourite granola recipe (yours Kimberley) featuring all manner of nuts, rice puffs, maple syrup, cranberries, sorghum flour, sesame seeds, pepitas, cinnamon, cardamon, and oil.  Delicious with almond or cashew milk.

But the one recipe I absolutely must leave you with today is Taco Fiesta Potato Crisps!  They are just unbelievably delicious! Have them as an appetizer, a party pleaser, or bake up enough of them to use as a meal alongside a tasty salad.

IMG_0250

Taco Fiesta Potato Crisps:

Gluten-free, soy-free, sugar-free, grain-free

25-30 mins prep time; 35 mins cooking time

For the potato crisps

2 russet potatoes, unpeeled, sliced into 1/4 inch (6mm) rounds (use a lot more if you plan on this as an actual meal and not an appetizer)

1 T (15 ml) grapeseed oil

Fine-grain sea salt and freshly ground black pepper

For the walnut taco meat

I C (250 ml) walnuts, toasted, if preferred

1 T (15 ml) olive oil

1 1/2 tsp (7ml) chili powder

1/2 tsp (2ml) ground cumin

1/4 tsp (1ml) fine-grain sea salt

1/8 tsp (0.5ml) cayenne pepper

To assemble:

1 recipe Cashew Sour Cream (see further down)

1/2 to 3/4 C (125-175ml) salsa

2-3 green onions, thinly sliced

Freshly ground pepper

**Cashew Cream:  Soak 1 C cashews in water for 8hrs or overnight.  Drain and rinse and transfer to a blender with 1/2 C to 1 C (125-250 ml) water.  Blend on high speed.  Add the following to turn it into Sour Cream:  2 tsp (10ml) fresh lemon juice, 1 tsp (5ml) apple cider vinegar, 1/2 tsp plus 1/8 tsp (2.5ml) fine-grain seas salt, or to taste. (Most of mine just prefer to use regular dairy sour cream but this cashew cream does work well for those needing to avoid dairy.)

Directions:

Make the Potato Crisps: Preheat the oven to 425 F. Line a large baking sheet with parchment and place potatoes in single layers and drizzle with the oil, rubbing it in evenly.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Roast the potatoes for 30-35 mins, flipping halfway through.  Cook until tender.  Let them cool 5 mins before assembling the mixture on them.

Make the Walnut Taco Meat:  In a processor, combine walnuts, oil, chill powder, cumin, salt, and cayenne and process until a fine crumble.   Set the mixture aside.

Top each potato slice with 1 tsp of the cashew (or regular) sour cream, followed by 1 tsp each of the walnut taco meat, salsa, and green onions.  Garnish with pepper and serve while still warm.

_________________________

Hope you find time to try these because they’re well worth the effort.  Once the real spring weather arrives I don’t imagine I’ll be spending too many cooking marathons in the kitchen as I’m itching to get outdoors and start the veggie plots.  Spring isn’t quite in the air yet here.  It can’t seem to make up it’s mind.  But hopefully this week?  I’d love to pack away my winter jacket.  We spotted the first blossom on our cherry tree so the real thing must almost be here.  Please, spring, say it’s true! I’ll keep y’all posted on the doings in the garden and life around the abode.  For now, happy Monday Make to y’all!

IMG_0259

4 thoughts on “The Monday Make: Angela Liddon Marathon Cooking

  1. We have made the broccoli and cashew cheese burrito and the chickpea salad sandwich – and they were so good!!!

    Like

    • Somehow I knew you’d already have gotten your hands on this wonderful cookbook. Isn’t it great?! We ought to share a meal together completely cooked from that book. Let’s plan it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

