The Monday Make: Kelly’s Dhal Soup

Lentils are a staple in this household with a few in the family favouring the vegetarian palette over the carnivore or omnivore one.  So I’m always looking for new ways to cook up lentils.  My friend, Kelly, had us over one evening after Quizzing and served up this absolutely delicious, mouth-watering Dhal soup with samosas on the side, as well as warmed Naan bread.

IMG_2108

My youngest is always wary of new foods and new titles she’s not familiar with.  She had an idea this would be spicy when she heard it’s name and so of course avoided it completely, deciding on just the salad and bread that evening.  I knew she was very fond of Lentil soup so I decided the following week to make this very same recipe Kelly served us up and, instead, told her we were having “Lentil Soup.”  Because Lentil soup is her absolute favourite, she was delighted. My experiment went off without a hitch, her scraping the bowl clean.  So we’ve a new favourite in the house and also an added craving for samosas made fresh from a local Indian market and spicy mango sauce for dipping.

20160207_184953~2

And if you haven’t already noticed…YES that’s the final product Kelly’s daughter is wearing! I finally finished the scarf! Kelly was a bit camera shy for the photo-op since she’s sporting a full blown cold at the moment.  Thanks for being our model, J! Looks lovely on you.

What began as an easy two week project I was to accomplish for Kelly’s birthday at the end of October, turned into a four month project, with promises throughout those months that it’d be ready for sure for Christmas, no New Year’s, well how about Valentine’s?  So there you have it, four celebrations later I was finally able to hand it over before winter’s end.

meknitting

IMG_2197

IMG_2198

IMG_2201

I’m on the search now for a new project with a shorter life span. If you’ve any ideas to share, let me know.

Happy Monday Make to y’all!

Kelly’s Dhal Soup recipe:

2 T butter

2 garlic cloves finely chopped

1 onion, chopped

1/2 tsp turmeric

1 tsp garam masala

1/4 tsp chili powder

2 cans diced tomatoes, drained

1 C red lentils

2 tsp lemon juice

2 1/2 C Veg bouillon stock

1 1/4 C coconut milk

salt and pepper

chopped cilantro and lemon slices to garnish

Serve with Naan bread

Cooking instructions:

Melt the butter in a large pan and sauté the garlic and onions 2-3 mins, stirring.  Add the spices and cook for 30 seconds more.  Stir in tomatoes, red lentils, lemon juice, veg bouillon, and coconut milk, and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer for 25-30 mins until the lentils are tender and cooked.  Season to taste and turn the soup into a warm tureen.  Garnish and serve with warm Naan bread and samosas.

*As per Kelly’s suggestion to me, double the spices for even more flavour.*

Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “The Monday Make: Kelly’s Dhal Soup

  1. Hi Barbara, I am just popping by to thank you very much for the lovely, encouraging comment you left on Beth’s blog for my Mesopotamia post. I just read it now and was so grateful, I had to come and tell you!! Thank you lovely friend 🙂
    I hear from my Lil that your daughter and her are getting on like a house on fire, and she is very much enjoying being her pen pal!

    Like

    • Well I find your posts so inspiring and wanted others to know too. You have pumped me up to bring back history with some gusto when September rolls around again. We’ve been so all consumed with some special programs that we’ve left off the subject I love teaching the most. Your blog is a great resource! Many thanks!
      And yes, agreed, the girls are getting on well together. How neat is that?!

      Like

Leave a Reply

