Happy New Year! And Monday Make (finally!)

Happy New Year to each and every one of you! It’s been a quiet time on the blog over the Advent season.

IMG_20151222_181107300

Wayne had the week between Christmas and New Year’s off which was a nice treat, making it really feel like vacation time when daddy gets to be off alongside us.

We took a hop, skip, and jump over the border one day to eat lunch at The Cheesecake Factory.  Wayne took our eldest down to the Pompeii exhibit in the city one day (along with the rest of the province), and I finally found time to find the floor again in the basement, ploughing my way through boxes and heaps of laundry.  It had been on my to-do list for seemingly eons, so while it appears a very dull, poor you having to stay home and do housework during Christmas break kind of thing, it really was done with gusto and much motivation, and an earnestness to check it off from that long standing list. And it’s now made it to my New Year’s resolution’s list as, so far the only item listed:  To keep laundry off the floor in the basement.  How’s that for aiming high with goals?!

I was also a brave mama and took all four kiddos out clothes (and toy) shopping from 10:30-4:30 one day with their Christmas gift cards and money. Imagine! As I described it to family and friends, it was a mix of hilarity and annoyance.  Our fourteen year old twins are, shall I say, full of drama, to put it lightly? There was a good deal of poking, squealing, banter, and much exaggeration taking place as we moved from place to place, trapped inside our moving vehicle. My eldest thrives on quiet moments and having space, so when youngest leaned over from the back seat, deciding it was time to show her siblings the goop from her infected in-grown toenail that happened to be stuck to her sock now, I knew that very moment, amidst the screaming and waving hands, it was time to head home.

IMG_5911

We spent the last of 2015 with friends ringing in the New Year together with a 27 hour party full of many games and lots of food.  If y’all haven’t played Biblios or Telestrations, I highly recommend you try them. While the ladies had two rounds of Biblios, two rounds of Rummikub, many rounds of Super Big Boggle, a few goes at Dutch Blitz, and a game of Word Sweep, the men played Star Wars Risk that- whole -time! We left it behind for our friends to play with their children over the weekend and I’ve already received a message from the mama (with sarcastic intonations) asking me to thank Wayne for having done that…it’s all they’ve played all weekend.

My weekend was spent preparing for school to start up again, trying to wrap my head around what was a hit and miss last semester, what can be re-vamped, what completely new things do I need to add, and how to get everyone pumped for the first day.

IMG_1947

My eldest reminded me I wrote a blog post last year about the first day of school after Christmas break was over. I guess it was that bad.  I had high expectations and apparently it all flopped…starting with breakfast (the same one I did today…latkes), and continuing on throughout the day with bickering and sour attitudes. Oh dear. And I wrote about it? Well, I’m hoping this year we’ll have cheerier countenances to enter the first day back, and if not, well that’ll just be a reminder that we’ll not be winning the poster homeschool family award, but maybe the one for normalcy.

Here’s a recipe (it’s about time isn’t it?!!) for your Monday Make as you head back to school or work.  Our friends made this at New Year’s with the twist of spreading on hummus on a wrap, adding the Tabouleh, rolling up and cutting into mini bites. It displays very well on a platter.  And because of that pretty (and delicious) display, we had them for lunch today!

IMG_1953

Enjoy! Happy school days, work days and happy Monday Make to y’all! And many thanks to Jen at Practical By Default and Julia from Goss Photography  for nominating me for the Liebster award. I’m feeling shy and flattered!

Tabouleh Salad from Canadian Living:

Ingredients:

3/4 C (175ml) quinoa

1 C (250ml) chopped fresh, flat-leaf parsley

1 C (250ml) chopped English cucumber

1/2 C (125ml) chopped green onions

1/4 C (60ml) chopped fresh mint

1 tomato, seeded and chopped

Dressing:

3 Tbsp (45ml) lemon juice (though I’d personally add a bit more as I believe my friend did for her recipe since I tasted the lemon with a “just right amount” flavour)

2 Tbsp (30ml) extra-virgin olive oil

1/4 tsp (1ml) salt

1/4 tsp (1ml) pepper

Preparation:

Rinse quinoa under cold running water.  In saucepan, bring 1 1/2 C water to boil; add quinoa and return to boil.  Reduce heat, cover and simmer until no liquid remains, about 18 mins.

Remove from heat; fluff with fork.  Transfer to bowl; let cool.  Add parsley, cucumber, green onions, mint and tomato.

Dressing: Whisk together lemon juice, oil, salt and pepper; pour over quinoa mixture and toss to coat.  Serve at room temperature or cover and refrigerate for 1 hour. (Or do as we did and put a layer of hummus on a soft wrap, lay out a line of Tabouleh, roll up and cut into small bite size sections.)

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Happy New Year! And Monday Make (finally!)

  1. Congratulations on the award! I believe my L wrote to your C, I hope that was still okay. Thank you for your email. I want to give a considered reply, rather than just a quick note like this, but I promise I will get round to replying (please forgive me…time is my enemy!) I hope you are all having a wonderful new year.

    Like

    • I’m not worried, Claire. I know time is the enemy too. Too much to get done in such a short amount of time each day. I’ll have C check her e-mails. Possible it went to spam instead. Hope you’re all enjoying the new semester and all your fun things you get going over there for projects and learning! Wish we could join you for some of them! Better get back to littlest and English. I’m not normally checking during school hours but when I haven’t posted in a long time it gets the best of me and I sneak a peek here and there. ha!

      Like

  2. Love the goal of laundry! I got a second washer and dryer yesterday and it has been heaven..so we are trying to reorganize our family closet and clean the mountain that had accumulated. I can’t stress how vital more than one washer and dryer is for a large family.. lol
    The recipe looked so good!!! Might try it! Happy New year!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

