The Monday Make: Chewy Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Mondays can go in one of two directions, depending on how well planned we are for starting the week.  To keep some consistency laid out for the beginning of each week, I’ve added the Monday Make as part of our routine to kick start the week of snacks off better.  I find when there are snacks made and available in the house for those in-between meal hours, then everyone stays content (for the most part).  So, new to the blog will be our weekly Monday Make to share snack recipes with you for your home school break time. And I always welcome suggestions so forward your own recipes and we’ll add them to our baking sessions and post them, making sure we give credit where it’s due.

IMG_0272

The happy egg and mad egg.  Only one was grateful to be part of our yummy recipe.

IMG_0212

The close-up…including the weather-worn hands to prove winter has taken it’s toll on my skin. Had I been 20 something, or maybe even 30 something, I’d never have shown you a picture like this.  Ah, but the 40s free one from such nonsense.

IMG_0211

Mad egg getting madder.

IMG_0213

The hilarious honey addition in this recipe. You’ll see what I mean when you look at the ingredients.  And don’t be fooled by how little is left in my jar.

IMG_0214

The Monday Make famous mixer.

IMG_0216

IMG_0215

Don’t ever forget to cut your nails before baking.  Seems we bring the nail clippers with us everywhere in the house.  I ought to include this as a Find Waldo kind of thing in my posts. Maybe I’ll think on that one and do a give-away of sorts for the winner, with the prize:  a pair of nail clippers?

IMG_0217

IMG_0218

My recipe is sloppily hand-written into my big green sort of organized-by-category food binder.  It started out as a health food binder when I did a 21 day de-tox (okay, admittedly I only lasted about 14 days on this) with hubby back in 2009, and then attempted a gluten-free diet. It has since morphed into an anything goes binder with a mix of gluten-free, Paleo, dairy-free, and as you can see in the following recipe, sugar-loaded, gluten packed, delizi-o-so recipe that makes tea time all the more enjoyable. And if anyone is wondering, WHMIS was the safety procedure manual at my father’s workplace.  There’s no secret cooking code or rhyme or reason for choosing this binder, other than it’s size, for my recipes.

IMG_0266

IMG_0268

IMG_0270

My profuse apologies to the owner of the recipe, of whom I neglected to record when I hand-wrote it from a cookbook in bygone years now; truly a good one. My thanks for being the scientist to test this in your kitchen, whoever you are. We all love this one.

Chewy Cranberry  Oatmeal Cookies

1 1/2 C flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

2 1/2 C oats

8 oz unsalted butter

1 C light brown sugar

1/2 C sugar

2 large eggs, beaten lightly

1 Tbsp honey (this ingredient cracks me up; I mean look at the sugar amounts above)

2 tsp vanilla

1 1/3 dried cranberries

1 C pecans, chopped

————-

Baking Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350 F

Combine dry ingredients; stir in oats

Set aside

Beat butter & sugar until fluffy (and I used less sugar than what it called for)

Add eggs; scrape down bowl; add honey (the piddles it calls for), vanilla, & beat till blended

Add flour, mixing in two additions, beating until combined

Stir in cranberries and pecans

Bake (or *freeze and bake at a later date)

Bake 9-11 mins until centre is no longer soft.

Cool 5 mins on pan

*If  freezing, roll into a log and put in plastic wrap.  When thawing, let it sit 15 mins then cut 3/16″ thick slices (another funny instruction) and bake.

IMG_0219 

One thought on “The Monday Make: Chewy Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

  1. Thanks for sharing this wonderful site with me, Barbara and family..I miss seeing your smiley faces at the RBG and hope to see you again soon. All the best tomorrow, Camille..xoxoxoxox

    Like

Leave a Reply

