Salmon spawning, trip 1

salmonhunt1-1

salmonhunt1-7

I checked online prior to our Salmon education outing along the Credit River to see when the start of the salmon spawning was to happen, and since there had been sightings of salmon already, I thought we’d take advantage of the good weather we were gifted with this September and do our salmon study outdoors with some friends.

salmonhunt1-13

salmonhunt1-3

I know absolutely nothing about fishing and have tried over the years to add fish to my diet, but with no success. As much as I’d love to learn to fish, I just plain don’t like the taste. Never been a fan of fishy foods. And maybe that has added to my little knowledge on the whole subject. But I was bound and determined we should know (and see) more, particularly to do with the yearly salmon spawning up the Credit River. I did discover that within the Credit River there are several types of salmon coming back to spawn where they were born, among them being Chinook, Coho, and Atlantic Salmon (and there are apparently also Brown Trout). After spawning they die, one of which you’ll see in my pic below–my apologies for those of you who get grossed out by dead fish pics. But better to just see it than suddenly come upon it as we did. And if any of you are fishermen and want to study the photo long enough to tell me which type of salmon this one is, please do send me a message to let me know.

salmonhunt1-2

To learn the life cycle of salmon and add a creative writing lesson to boot, click here.

To our dismay, we were only able to spot 4 live salmon, and 1 dead one. But more on this in a post to follow (where greater numbers were spotted–live and dead). But best of all is to be alongside this picturesque river with nature notebooks in hand, drawing salmon, eating grapes and cheese, and watching children thrive in the natural setting around them.

salmonhunt1-4

salmonhunt1-6

salmonhunt1-5

salmonhunt1-16

We continued our afternoon up the hill where the boys caught insects for the pet Preying Mantis one of them owned. And my girl collected her own plant specimens to return with.

salmonhunt1-9

salmonhunt1-10

salmonhunt1-11

salmonhung1-12

Happy to be out, once again, on a glorious September afternoon for this outing since we’re always anticipating the cold to come. It’s been a treat to comfortably enjoy nature study in these mild temps for this time of year.

To end our day, believe it or not (and I suspect many of you  may be among the “not”), I cooked us up some Salmon Pasta (those who’ll eat it in my household) for our dinner that night. For the most part, I’m not a fish eater besides it being battered in true British style fish n’ chips; that, I’d jump at. But unfortunately, it’s rare to see fish on the menu in our house. But, I will confess to enjoying another of my friend’s recipes– (she needs to start a food blog, I think!)–Salmon Pasta. Never thought I’d enjoy anything with the  word salmon in it, and especially coming from a tin, but there you have it. I loved it, still do, and as you have read, I made it for the very ending of our salmon-themed day. If you’re interested, the recipe is below. And don’t be afraid to go ahead and use more fresh cooked salmon in place of my tinned kind.

Doesn’t that lovely photo of the fly-crusted salmon make you want to cook this meal? Yum.

Salmon Pasta

1/4 C Olive Oil

1/2 C onion, sliced

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 tsp finely shredded lemon zest

1/3 C lemon juice

2 Tbsp coarsely chopped parsley

1 can (7 3/4 oz) salmon, drained

8 oz eggless spinach linguine

parmesan cheese

Heat oil in skillet over low heat, add onion and sauté until tender but not browned (10 mins). Add garlic; sauté 2 mins; stir in lemon zest, juice, and parsley.  Add salmon and carefully break up with a fork–do not stir.

Cook pasta until al dente; drain. Reheat sauce over high heat, do not stir.

Toss linguine and sauce together and sprinkle with parmesan cheese. Serve immediately (and before anyone asks, “what is this?”)

Serves 4

Leave a Reply

